Daily Archives: April 17, 2011

ok, stupid

So, I recently joined OKCupid and it’s ok. It’s kind of fun thinking about the questions they ask. People seem a helluva lot more interesting on OKCupid than they do in real life I think…

But then there’s the whole “match” percentage thing, which totally baffles me. There’s a guy on there named Devan and these are our percentages:
38% Match 74% Friend 26% Enemy

Now, the issues on which we seem to most strongly disagree are abortion and contraception! I know, right!? I don’t even know why they ask that of gay guys — does it really matter what we think? But evidently he rates these as very important to him and therefore we only match 38%. But 74% friends? Why do views on things like abortion and contraception not matter in a friendship? Ugh!

oktrends

Okay, if you want to know…

Will my date have sex on the first date?

Ask…

  • Do you like the taste of beer?

Because…

Among all our casual topics, whether someone likes the taste of beer is the single best predictor of if he or she has sex on the first date.

from The Best Questions For A First Date